Resources: Creatinine | Treatment | Experts

Call Us for More Information

Contact Us | About Hospital

Current Location:Home > Chronic Kidney Failure > Chronic Kidney Failure stages

Stages of Chronic Kidney Failure (CRF)

About Chronic Kidney Failure (CRF)

Chronic kidney failure, or chronic kidney disease (CKD), is a slow progressing disease. Kidney disease is latent which means kidney damage may occur without being noticed. Chronic kidney failure should be detected as early as possible, and then by making dietary modifications and lifestyle changes the patients can delay its progress and keep you feel good as long as possible.

Five stages of Chronic Kidney Failure (CRF)

There are five developing stages of Chronic Kidney Failure (CRF). The glomerular filtration rate (GFR) will indicate a person’s stage of chronic kidney failure. Determining your stage is the first step towards making a best treatment and management plan.

The kidneys are organs whose health is vital to our body. The kidneys filter various kinds of wastes and excess fluid out of the body. But this is not all the job of the kidneys. They also function to regulate balances of electrolytes and hormones to maintain stability of the physiological activities. The patients in different developing stages of chronic kidney failure experience varied symptoms, thereby also calling for different tests and treatments.

Glomerular filtration rate (GFR)

Glomerular filtration rate (GFR) is the best measurement of renal functions. The test is performed to reflect how well your kidneys are working and determine your stage of chronic kidney failure (CRF). The doctor will use the result from your creatinine test, your age, your sex and race to calculate your GFR. Creatinine is a waste that comes from your muscles. Healthy functioning kidneys can remove creatinine from the blood. As kidney function slows, blood levels of creatinine will rise.

Below shows the five stages of CRF and GFR in each stage:

﹡Stage 1 with normal or high GFR (GFR>90 ml/min)

﹡Stage 2 mild chronic kidney failure (GFR=60-89 ml/min)

﹡Stage 3 Moderate stage with GFR 30-59 ml/min

﹡Stage 4 Severe CRF with GFR 15-29 ml/min

﹡Stage 5 End Stage Kidney Disease---GFR<15ml/min

Once you know your GFR, you can determine your stage of CRF and click the link to know about that particular stage:

Chronic kidney failure stage 1-2

Chronic kidney failure stage 3

Chronic kidney failure stage 4

Chronic kidney failure stage 5

If you would like a dietary or management plan for your specialized illness condition, you may consult us directly.

Renal Failure Treatment